My Desk

“If lust be one of the deadly sins, then I am guilty”
Judith Baxter 1938 –

I was visiting my very new Father-in-law (well new to me anyway) in the family home.  He had not attended our wedding although he had sent good wishes and a cheque and this was the first time I was to meet him.

My very new husband and I went into the library to meet his father and there under a window was this magnificent desk.  I lusted after it from the moment I first saw it. It was the most beautiful piece of furniture that I had ever set eyes upon.

Mahogany Desk

Looks exactly like 'my desk'

Shining with the patina of years of polishing and glowing in the afternoon sun.  I managed to speak to this new person in my life, but couldn’t take my eyes of his desk.

He couldn’t fail to notice that my eyes kept wandering to the desk and he quickly put me out of my misery.  He pulled out the chair and told me to sit.  This I did with alacrity and was soon running my hands over the beautiful mahogany surface, afraid that I would leave finger marks all over it.  He then suggested that I open the lid and investigate all the little drawers under it and I saw how beautifully they slid in and out.  He pointed out that there were no nails at all in the desk.  All the joins/connections were made with dowel rods and were perfect.  As my father and his family were all cabinet makers and/or woodcarvers by trade, I knew a bit about furniture making.

There were several larger drawers where he kept his papers, but I was fascinated with the little drawers and cubby holes.

I was quite sure that if I owned such a magnificent desk I could conquer the world with my writing.

Each time we visited I went into the library and looked lustfully lovingly at ‘my desk’.  I hungered for this piece of furniture although at the time we owned (with the bank) a semi-detached house that had no room for such a piece of furniture.  But oh how that desk  would have lifted that ordinary little house from the ordinary to the extraordinary.

With the charms greed innocence of youth, I really thought that at some stage we/I would own that desk.  Alas, it was not to be.  We left Scotland to start our travels around the world and the desk and all the other wonderful antiques stayed in that house in Scotland.  I wonder where it is now.

I have since purchased a roll top desk but it is not nearly as beautiful as ‘my desk’.  I scour antique shops in the hope that I might discover another beauty but so far I have been unsuccessful.  But I keep looking.

Desk

And what is my desk like now.  Well it is a functional metal frame with a glass top and as you can see, it is unlikely that I would get everything I need onto ‘my desk’.

To be able to write I do need all these things.  The coffee being constantly replenished, the Filofax in case Mr Right wants to take me away from all this, hand cream and nail varnish (what woman can exist without these essentials) the dictionary and the flip top daily laugh sayings that my grandchildren bought for me.  They tell me that they immediately thought of me when they saw it.  Today I flipped it over and  this is what I found.

Worship me

And sometimes I have some extra help from my four legged friend.

Lotte on desk

Another helping hand

So with all that in mind, and still on the hunt for a replacement for ‘my desk’ I will be satisfied for now with what I have.

A desk is a dangerous place from which to view the world.
John le Carre , 1931 –

26 responses to “My Desk

  1. Contentment is sweet but I hope you’ll have you dream desk soon. Stay blessed my friend.

  2. oh it was such a beauty! Thanks for the comment. Loved your post on who will catch me! 🙂

  3. Wood is wonderful. My mother had a ‘writing bureau’ which I coveted. It had lovely little cubby-holes and nooks and crannies which I adored. My sister has it now. Thing is that over the years I have come to realise that we don’t own our possessions – they own us! So I am now contented to have just what I need!

  4. A tidy desk is the sign of a sick mind.
    I heard that somewhere and have adopted it.
    I have a VERY healthy mind.

    • My late husband always had such a tidy desk and would wonder how I could get any work done with mine in such disarray. Well it wasn’t disarray to me. It was just how I worked. !

  5. It was a lovely desk, the one you have now seems very practical, but you can still dream of “one day”. 🙂

  6. I loved what it says on the Daily Laugh Sayings…I shall tell my husband what it says to do! 😉
    I must say the desk with Lotte on there is the cutest desk I have ever seen! 🙂

  7. Would Lotte be allowed on the coveted desk? Those claws would scratch…..

    I love the flip-over desk calendar and message!

  8. My husband’s family owned one of those handmade roll top (secretaries, we called them) desks, and we never got it either…hubby’s sister is the recipient. However, we did get the grandfather clock I’d lusted after for many years.

    • Well the grandfather clock that was always referred to as David’s (my son) also went somewhere else. But hey, we made the decision to move away so …

  9. Beautiful desk, Judith. And what a gorgeous 4-legged friend! 😀

  10. I saw a desk many years ago in a store and it was instant love. I decided to be realistic and think first on whether I should spend what seemed like a huge amount at that time. I went back to buy and it was gone. Have never sen one like it since!

    • My late husband used to say if you want it buy it as it may be gone by the time you return. How sad for you Chris, but maybe like me, you now don’t really have the room for such a priceless gem!

  11. We have passed over an antique piece of furniture or two that come to mind from time to time. We did find a wonderful Pilgrim century chest that we acted upon. It has been moved from room to room over the years, and now seems to be in the way more than serving any real purpose–the flat surface that everything lands on and is always cluttered. “Your” desk is beautiful–both of them. Does Lotte make a good paperweight? Or does she help you with your coffee? lol

    • Wow – I didn’t know what a Pilgrim Century Desk was and so I Google-d it. Your desk is very rare and aren’t you lucky to have it.We did inherit an old 18th Monk’s chest that for many years was the recipient/resting place for mail, school books and anything else that needed a hurried home.
      And Lotte does make a good paperweight. She just settles herself down wherever she happens to be.

  12. Always wanted a roll top. Found one in the trash a few years back. It took me 3 weeks to restore it, New brass , cherry color and deep hard red leather writing surface. Green felt too.

    • I do have a roll top but it is only about 20 years old. It has lots of nooks and crannies for paper, cards etc but doesn’t have the feel or the look of one like yours.

  13. My Great Aunt had a desk similar to what you described. Whenever I would visit her, I would make a b-line to that desk and play with every drawer and door. There were two secret compartments, which I loved ‘rediscovering’. It’s a shame, really – pieces of furniture like that are so hard to find these days.

    In any case, you seem to be surrounded by wonderful things and good company with your current desk. 🙂

  14. mistybbarrere1015

    My grandmother’s desk looks like that – very similar. Here, we call it a “secretary”. Belongs to my mom, but sits in the upstairs bedroom under a pic of my grandmother, holds her jewelry. One day…

So what's on your mind?

