Ten Mindset Perspectives

“Now is the time to start living the life you’ve always wanted.”  Judith Baxter

Sunrise

Today is the first day of the rest of your life

When tidying my computer, and it was long overdue, I came across this page that was a handout I gave to those attending one of my Self Confidence courses.  See if it rings any bells with you.

  1. What we think is Always anchored by a belief, value or life experience that causes you to think as you do.
  2. We all view life through a ‘lens’ and that lens is a reflection of our beliefs, values and life experiences, including old wounds.
  3. How we view our possibilities is based on our beliefs.  These beliefs can be challenged and changed and challenged and we have the right to do so.
  4. When words like ‘can’t’, ‘have to’, ‘should’ and ‘shouldn’t’ are used there is a strong belief being expressed.
  5. Most of our beliefs were formed when we were children and often reflect the beliefs of adults in our lives.  Therefore, a good question to ask yourself about one of your beliefs is “Does this serve me and help me create the life I want?” and “Is this belief truth or merely someone’s opinion”.
  6. You do have the right to your own beliefs.
  7. Confusion, worry, anxiety, anger and frustration are often signs your inner wisdom is being blocked from coming through.
  8. Freedom comes as a result of stepping into your fears as opposed to stepping away from them.
  9. Let more than your mindset run your life.  Your inner wisdom knows what to do – listen to it.
  10. The way to readjusting your mindset is to become conscious of these beliefs and values.  the way to change them is to step into the unknown and dissect your beliefs.

I am now taking off my Life Coach hat and will return to the normal rambling posts on memories, nostalgia, family etc tomorrow.

Chinese character for Contentment

Contentment

“Becoming more and more aware of all that is possible moves your whole life into greater balance.” Author unknown.


20 responses to “Ten Mindset Perspectives

  1. “Now is the time to start living the life you’ve always wanted.” I wish to live this by heart. Ain’t life sweet if we truly live according to our hopes and dreams and not what the World dictates. It’s total freedom to be who we are . Just a beautiful post. Thanks.

    • That was the tag line for my newsletters when I was running my Life coaching business. And it is true that today is the first day etc.l
      Thank you for the comment. 🙂

  2. I like the advice in #9 and #10. However, #6 sets me to thinking. I suppose people have the right to believe the earth was created in 7 days and that the earth is 6,000 years old but I am uncomfortable with their right to foist such absolute nonsense on their children. Seems like such anti-intellectualism(I call it anti-intelligence) is held by at least 20% of the American population.

    • Well I know that we all have the right to our own beliefs but not the right to foist them on anybody else. But a parent will live life according to his or her own beliefs and so these beliefs will be passed on to their children. Hopefully, by the time the children are old enough to make their own decisions, they will decide whether or not to accept these beliefs and values for themselves.
      Thanks Carl for the comment – you always make me look at things from a different perspective.

  3. Judith, I take you to my post written almost a year ago.
    http://rummuser.com/?p=4258

    It is odd that your hand out could well be addressed as a comment on my blog! Today, as I write this, other new challenges have cropped up and life goes on.

    • I read your post with great interest. My sister took on the load of looking after first my mother through her dementia and then my father in his aging years as she was the only sister left on that continent. From my many conversations with her from afar and also in person, I know that there were many times of quiet desperation when she wanted to run away. But I guess we all do what we have to do. I see friends here coping with these questions, problems and challenges each day with their elderly parents.
      I should like to think that your life is becoming easier since you wrote that blog. 🙂

  4. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    Love these! #9 is one I try to live by each day. Great list! 🙂

  5. “Freedom comes as a result of stepping into your fears as opposed to stepping away from them.” I know that’s true, but at this stage of my life, I want to add another thought to the list: It’s okay to say no to something that makes you anxious.

    I retired from a job that was so stressful the last few years, I dreaded going to work on many days. Now I’m involved with a wonderful organization that has me doing things that make me anxious. I’m tired of deadlines and responsibilities, but I lack the courage to get myself out of it because so many people are depending on me. Great list, Judith.

    • Hi Susan.
      It is always OK to say NO to something that either makes you anxious or that doesn’t fit into your ethical or moral standards. As women and particularly women of our generation, we have been taught to put ourselves out for others. Therefore, saying NO becomes hard for us. But as with anything else, practice makes it easier. Try saying NO to something small and build up from there.
      If you weren’t there to support these others in the organization, they would find a way to shoulder the responsibilities. Can you ease yourself out of the situation gradually if you feel unable to get out of it? I hope you find a way.
      Judith 🙂

      • We have our big conference coming up in September, so now isn’t the time to cut and run, but when the conference is over, I think I will get off one of the committees. After that, I’ll try to ease my way off the board before our conference next year. I think I might give them a deadline. “You will need to find someone to replace my by such and such a date.” Thanks so much for your advice and support, Judith.

  6. I like your quote at the top of the page. That Judith Baxter is a smart cookie. 🙂 And then you mention tidying your computer, something I keep telling myself to do…but I apparently don’t listen very well. I identified with #5, remembering things my mother would say, and learning to discern truth from old wive’s tales.

    • Thanks Patti – well I have had many years thinking about things. My computer was just a mess and I had a couple of hours ‘free’ so decided that this was a good use of the time. I could have been ‘rubber gloving’ around the house instead.

  7. Our mindset is a powerful thing… It is used as a weapon of destruction by some and as a tool for healing by others; we get to choose.

  8. I love the picture, and the quote underneath “today is the first day of the rest of your life”

  9. Thanks. That’s one of my favourite pictures and quotes. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Do You have a Prosperity Mindset? | Create Your Life By Design

  11. Pingback: Ancient Wisdoms « Letters to The Soul

So what's on your mind?

