Finding your Focus

“You cannot change your destination overnight, but you can change your direction overnight.”  Jim Rohn, Motivational speaker and author.  1930 – 2009.

You will find that I often quote Jim Rohn.  He was one of those magical people who had the power to motivate one to become so much more.  His was a rags to riches story and I will tell this in another blog, at another time.  But for now –

I am off again following other people’s blogs.  I read this one today from Duke at Change is Never Ending and it reminded me of an article I wrote for a magazine a couple of years ago.  I thought it would follow on nicely to Duke’s blog.
So here it is:

Signpost

Photo - Mathias Kaden | Dreamstime.com

In today’s busy and ever-changing world, we can easily become overwhelmed. You have made your resolutions and set your goals for change, but now it seems you have so much to do that you don’t know where to start.  At this stage it is easy to lose our enthusiasm for the changes we wish to make.

Would you like to be sure that with each step you are heading in the right direction?  The following questions will help you narrow
down your ‘To Do’ list and help you work towards your goals in a clearly defined
way.

First, ask yourself:

  1. What do I really want to do?  Doing what you want to do is a process of identifying those things you really don’t want to do and replacing them with those things you do want to do to bring you closer to your goals.  This will take time, but over time you will find you include more of the things you want  to do.
  2. What do I care about most? When you identify these things and do what you care about most you will begin to feel better about yourself.
  3. How do I feel when I am doing what I am doing?You may be on the wrong track if doing what you are doing does not give you joy and make you happy.   Working towards a goal is satisfying if it is filling you with happiness while you are doing it. The expectation of satisfaction on reaching the goal will keep you motivated.  Cultivate the feeling of having achieved that goal.  How will it feel?
  4. Why am I doing this? Clearly identify that what you are doing is moving you in the right direction, towards one or more of your goals. This will allow you to be living Your Life Your Way™.
  5. What shall I do now?  Create a list of all the things you care about and all the things you really want to do. Prioritize  them (A, B and C).

Answering questions 1 to 4 will help you narrow your focus on the things that are
really important. Spend the most time  and energy on items marked A and B.
You may find that items marked with aC become even less important and after
several days they might even fall off your ‘To Do List’.

Pen and notebook

Action Plan
After answering the questions and creating your ‘To Do List’, create an Action Plan. Each of the things in your above list will need mini-action plans and these form your Action Plan. Remember this is not a static thing. It is ever-changing and evolving.  As you reach one goal, it becomes replaced with another.  Only focus on one or two items at a time.  If you try to do everything you will be overwhelmed and the likelihood is you will become disheartened.  Remember to reward yourself as and when you complete each item – a trip to the beauty parlour, a new magazine, lunch with friends or just simply getting up from your desk and walking or sitting in the fresh air.  Keep in mind that nothing will  happen without action and you must take the first step.  Your Action Plan will keep you moving in the right direction.

Success sign
Take time to consider the five questions and then create your ‘To Do list’. If you
determine and clearly act on your focus, you will live a fuller and richer life.

Practice makes perfect

“No bird soars too high if he soars with his own wings.”  William Blake,  1757 –  1827 English poet, painter, and printmaker.

Judith Baxter, EzineArticles.com Platinum Author MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

16 responses to “Finding your Focus

  1. action plan – rarely do things we want plop down from heaven into our laps

  2. Pingback: Finding your Focus (via I choose how I will spend the rest of my life) | Change is Never Ending

  3. One of the issues that people struggle with is defining success by someone elses standards.

  4. Judith – I really like that first quote from Jim Rohn. So many of us just go through the motions of life instead of living a purposeful one. Great post; very good message.

  5. I will invest time in answering those five questions

  6. Jim Rohn was just one of those people. He inspired you to do so much more. thanks for the comment.

  7. Thanks for the refresher course on identifying the focus and keeping eyes on it.

  8. A saying I think I invented goes as follows: “Where you are is where you are meant to be, Everything you have done in your life has brought you to this point a this time. It is where you are going that you can change.”
    I love this posting because it fits so neatly with my beliefs and I LOVE the 5 questions….

  9. Thanks for the comment. I really love it when something I write rings true for somebody else.
    Judith

  10. Jim Rohn was one of my favorite motivational teachers too and I used his work in my training courses. I was quite sad when he passed away… loved his insights… Focus and flexibility are definitely important parts of any planning… 🙂

    PS. Catching up on commenting again after a hectic week that included 3 long days/nights at a yoga event. I will be attending another workshop in the coming week (7/11-7/14)and if I don’t leave comments, I will follow up on my return. 🙂
    Eliz

  11. Pingback: My Quote of the Day « Learntosellonline

So what's on your mind?

