My Mother always said

“You will do foolish things, but do them with enthusiasm”. Colette, Novelist and performer, 1873-1954

My Mother always said – “God looks after fools and drunks” I wonder what she would have said about this drunk man caught on tape.  Click here to see video uploaded by the Sun Newspaper in  the UK.

One has to wonder whether he is really drunk.  Look at the way he falls down those stairs and gets up and continues.

If he was really drunk, I wonder how he felt once he found that this tape had been broadcast to the world.

And fools abound.

Baldwin Street

Baldwin Street, Dunedin

Baldwin Street in Dunedin (in the South Island of New Zealand) is considered to be the steepest street in the world.  In March 2001 a 19-year-old University of Otago student was killed when she and another student attempted to travel down the street inside a wheelie bin. The bin collided with a parked trailer, killing one of the occupants instantly, and causing serious head injuries to the second.

Evel Knievel

Evel Knievel via Wikipedia

And we all know of the antics of this fellow.  “The 433 broken bones he suffered during his career earned an entry in the Guinness Book of World Records as the survivor of “most bones broken in a lifetime.” according to our friend Wikipedia.

But were either of these fools looked after by a higher being?  I leave it to you to decide for yourself.

And I know that I have done several foolish things in my life – what’s that you say, only several?  But they have never bordered on the dangerous as the people above have, including the drunk man.

Have you been involved in something foolish that could also have been dangerous?  Please share with us if you dare.

“A fellow who is always declaring that he’s no fool, usually has his suspicions.Wilson Mizner, 1876 – 1933,  American playwright, raconteur, and entrepreneur. .


28 responses to “My Mother always said

  1. Foolish yes, dangerous no 🙂

  2. Thank goodness Thomas.

  3. Foolish and dangerous , yes and you just reminded of it with this post… The things we did as kidscstill amazes me… Those angels were always working overtime. Great post! 🙂
    Eliz

    • Thanks – I do remember taking a short cut home through a bombed house after the Second World war. Looking back I am not surprised Mother forbade it.

  4. reminds me of this great song; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4-p4x-rUf0

    I think all kids have a self destruct mechanism – its nature’s way of continuing the ‘survival of the fittest’ in this cotton wool wrapped society!

    • Thanks for the introduction to Trish Murphy. I had never heard of her.
      And yes, I do think today’s kids are wrapped in cotton wool. 🙂

  5. I was never a daredevil and probably missed out on some exciting experiences because of it. I was even afraid of ice skating when I was growing up because I was afraid of falling. One of my big regrets.

    • Susan, thanks for the comment. Looking back there were one or two things I did that were dangerous but I survived and lived to tell my grandchildren. 🙂

  6. I love the opening quote… enthusiasm is the key!! That’s how I would describe many of my foolish deeds… in my younger days though… now that I’ve passed quite a few major milestones on the calender I tend to look at some of my antics and nod ruefully! Any yes, I do on occasion say thanks for still being alive! At least, like you… I have a few tales to tell my grand kids!

    • From this distance I can see why my Mother was concerned about some of the things I did. But now my life is really staid – no bungee jumping, no paragliding – how boring are the senior years.

  7. Foolish yes, very rarely dangerous. If I know something is dangerous, I’m likely to have zero interest in doing it.

  8. I am guilty of doing both foolish and dangerous things, and yes, as Colette has advised, I always do them with enthusiasm! I do believe drunk people should stay in the privacy of their own home and without a telephone because I don’t want any calls from them either!

  9. I am disappointed. I thought you would have had great and heroic deeds to tell.

  10. Thank you so much for inspiring me. It is just 5:05 am here in the Philippines but you made my day this early.

  11. I never was much of a daredevil…but I know I did foolish things!

    • But what about the song These Foolish Things Remind me of You? And they give us scope for stories against ourselves. Always good for a laugh.

  12. That is one steep street! It’s a good thing you don’t get snow. I can vouch for foolish, but too chicken to be dangerous.

  13. I hate to admit that I have no idea what a wheelie bin is?!?! I’m sure I’ve done a ton of foolish things, including riding on a motorcycle without a helmet and riding in an airplane glider without an engine. I take calculated risks….I can be a daredevil but only if I’m certain that I’ll come out unhurt and safe….so maybe that makes me not much of a daredevil at all. Shucks.

  14. Pingback: Trouble! « Susanthecoach's Blog

  15. Hi Judith..Susanthecoach did a nice piece on you today!!

  16. Thanks – I read it and commented.

  17. I’m a big chicken…I never do anything that could be considered dangerous, short of riding in a car with my dad, who is a terrible driver!

    Wendy

So what's on your mind?

