No change today

“Better a little which is well done, than a great deal imperfectly.”Plato, classical Greek philosopher and mathematician

and  “Well begun is half done.” Aristotle, Greek philosopher and student of Plato.

Ready for the paving

The sun is shining, there is no wind, the area has been cleared but where are the contractors?  I was full  of excitement this morning when I saw the sun shining after a weekend of almost constant rain and wind.  Surely the contractors would be here bright and early to finish what they started on Friday.

But no sign of them yet.  With the rain over the weekend the area that was cleared is showing a great abundance of sprouting weeds.  But I guess the paving just goes over the top of that – hmm?

On Saturday, in a frenzy of excitement that while the patio was not finished, it was at least started, I went to the local Garden Center to buy plants for the gardens to be made around the patio.

Garden Centre

Lotte quite likes going there and she is a great favorite among the staff.  She wanders around on her lead, of course, checking out what is new since the last time we were there.  Well I think that’s what she is doing, maybe she is just checking out which other dogs have been there before her.

cup of latte

And they make great coffee at the Chocolate Frog Cafe so another good reason for going there.

The choice of plants is amazing.  I wanted several plants for different reasons

Jardiniere

Something that didn’t mind having its feet wet for the jardiniere.  There are no drainage holes in the jardiniere and so it fills with water as can be seen here.  This shot is not helped by the fact that no weeding has been done here for weeks. I settled on a Heucherella ‘Brass Lantern’.  I am assured by my trusty friend in the garden center that this will thrive in my concrete pot.

Hebes

Something to fill in the spaces left when all the old plants have been removed.   I thought the Hebes would do well there and my friend at the GC agreed .  Here they are in the box just dumped there on Saturday in the pouring rain.

I have lots of pots from my living in apartments with only balconies instead of gardens, so I needed some more plants to fill a couple of these.

Australian Radermachera

Radermachera Summerscent

This is an Australian evergreen which I am reliably informed will do very well in a pot, is drought and sun hardy and tolerant of shade and cold.  And as a bonus it has highly scented flowers.  A perfect plant for me!

Acacia Fettucini

Acacia Fettucini

and  this Acacia Fettucini will also look good once planted as it will droop over the side of the pot.  There was a very large specimen at the Garden Center not for sale.  I am hoping mine will spread and droop in the same way.  And I love the name.

Pansies.

Then I saw these little pots of instant color and decided that is just what I need to brighten a winter garden so I bought ten.  They will look good and welcoming  in smaller green pots on the steps to the front door.

Camellias in pots

Camellias in waiting

And finally some decision will have to be made about the four camellias I bought and then had no place to put them.  They have languished in pots at the front fence for months.  Finding a place for them in this very small garden will be a challenge.

So whether or not the contractors arrive this afternoon, I shall be busy and I shall start with my instant color pots.  I do wish I could paint as they are the prettiest little darlings.  Blue tending towards purple with little yellow smiling centers.  This will be a lovely way to spend a cold, but sunny afternoon in Winter.

I found this quote from Abram L Urban in one of my books of quotations but cannot find anything about him.  Do you know of this writer?  I should be very pleased to have something to add to this quotation.

“In my garden there is a large place for sentiment.  My garden of flowers is also my garden of thoughts and dreams.  The thoughts grow as freely as the flowers, and the dreams are as beautiful”

STOP PRESS! STOP PRESS!

Concrete truck

The concrete cometh

It’s now 12.30pm and just as I was about to stop for lunch, the contractors arrived followed shortly by the concrete man.  So the patio will be worked on this afternoon and I am told they will be back to put the finish on it tomorrow.

So watch this space.


23 responses to “No change today

  1. Haas I am glad the men and truck arrived!!!

    • Thanks – it took all of one hour and tomorrow they have to return to put a seal on it. So I will have a usable patio in the next couple of days. Just have to keep Lotte off it in themeantime.

  2. Your plant choices are beautiful. I am excited to see more progress on your patio project!

  3. Glad to see they arrived to work on your patio, as I’m sure you are. Your plants are so pretty, can’t wait ti see pictures when you have everything the way you want it. 🙂

    • Well the patio is almost finished, just need to put the finish on tomorrow come rain or shine. So then it’s up to me.
      Thanks for the comment 🙂

  4. Glad things are finally moving along–nothing worse than no show contractors!

  5. It’s going to look lovely! Can’t wait for pics of the finished product.

    • It’s very small and in the front of the house but it’s where the sun is, when we have any. So this will be the outside seating area. I have great plans for it.

  6. Ooooh !
    I’ll tune in tomorrow for the next thrilling installment.
    Can’t wait 😀

  7. Hello again. The patio work should be finished tomorrow and then it’s up to me.

  8. Good thing they arrived mid day…. sometimes we wait all day and nary a truck in sight… I love the photos of your trip to the nursery…. reminding me to get there this week and pick up a few items for my balcony. I have a garden but also like to add color to my balcony… 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Eliz

    • The men were here today when I was away and it looks as if the patio is finished. Now the work to do the surrounds start and that’s on me.
      Judith

  9. After the cement dries and the flowers are in place, you will have a place to contemplate nature and love. How exciting it is that you’re garden is getting a makeover. I can’t wait to see the finished result.

    • Hi little friend. I have missed you.
      The patio is finished and the garden will be in place shortly – I have to find the time to plant all those things I bought.

  10. Your plant choices are lovely. Great work, well done!

    • Well hopefully the advice from my Garden Center man is right and the plants thrive.
      Oh and I love your poetry. thanks for dropping by.
      Judith 🙂

  11. Can’t wait to see your finished patio…I’ve never had much of a “green thumb” but my Nanny(grandma) always did!
    I love that name, Acacia Fettucini, as well…..Fettucini reminds me of the pasta! Yum!

  12. Love the little purple flowers…are they violets?

    Glad the concrete arrived…I hope the work is progressing nicely. Our big hole is filled in finally, but no sign of sod, and my fence is still open on two sides!

    Wendy

    • Little flowers are pansies and they are still in the box that I brought them home in. Shame on me. But it has been raining here for a couple of days so perhaps that is some excuse.
      All I now need is for a man to come and remove a couple of large tree stumps and then the planting can begin in earnest.

  13. Pingback: With a Little Help From My Friends | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

