I Hope You Never Take One Single Breath For Granted….

“Most human beings have an almost infinite capacity for taking things for granted.”
-Aldous Huxley,  1894 – 1963, English writer.

Standing in the shower today with the water cascading over this body I thought about how often we take things for granted.  I know that when I turn on the shower the water will spew forth.  When I turn on the stove the gas will light, the kettle will boil when I fill it with water and switch it on and the lavatory will flush.

Portaloos in Christchurch - NZPA

Following the February earthquake in Christchurch many homes were without water and operational lavatories and so the City Council imported thousands of portaloos that they positioned in various places around the city and outskirts.  I had thought originally, that each individual house had one.  But obviously this was not so as we read ”  Meanwhile the city council has issued “some tips on toilet etiquette to help ease the situation” -Be tolerant -Think of your neighbors – leave the loo how you would like to find it……”

Power was reinstated to most homes affected within a short time but some houses have been without running water now for 13 weeks.  They are still being advised to boil all drinking water before use.

We hear almost daily, of further after shocks some in the region of 5 on the Richter scale.  How scary must it be to live there and it is made more uncomfortable to many because of the lack of running water and operational sewers.

So today I am looking at the things we take for granted and making a real effort to imagine living without them.

Here’s a Max Lucado  quote that I particularly like :

“Next time a sunrise steals your breath or a meadow of flowers leaves you speechless, remain that way. Say nothing, and listen as heaven whispers, “Do you like it? I did it just for you.” 

Sunrise





Judith Baxter, EzineArticles.com Platinum Author
MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

14 responses to “I Hope You Never Take One Single Breath For Granted….

  1. Alex Valdez

    I just discovered your blog while looking for bread pudding recipes, of all things. I must say I’m quite impressed – it’s not every day that I come across such a well-written blog, and by a 72-year-old widow at that. I hope you can keep it up and meet your goal of writing a post every day for 2011.

    • Thanks Alex for the kind words. I have always written and love the idea of putting my thoughts out there to see what response I elicit from others like you.

  2. Please accept my sympathies for the terrible earthquake that you all went through. I hope things are better now.

    • We weren’t actually affected physically by the earthquake but mentally it has touched us all. Most people in our small country know somebody who was caught in the devastation.
      Thanks for your concern.

  3. I, too, am guilty of taking things for granted…many people in Canada and the U.S. are dealing with flooding right now…I can’t imagine their suffering!

    Thanks for making me think, Judith!

    Wendy

    • Well we get so busy in our everyday lives that we don’t stop to think often enough about all the things we do take for granted.

      I have been watching the floods and devastation in the US and keep thinking it can’t get any worse.

      Judith

  4. Another wonderful post, Judith, with excellent reminders to slow down and be thankful for the gifts we have in life, from the smallest to the largest. 🙂

  5. I learned a long time ago, never take anything or anyone for granted. Life is full of surprises. We need to accept what we have and look for the good in each one we are close to. Lord knows there is enough bad in this world to cover the entire earth at even given time. But, there is also good, and I go with the good. Smile, Laugh and Love-that’s my motto. 🙂

  6. This post reminds me of the “they.” THEY will make sure we have water. THEY will ensure our safety. THEY will educate our children. Taking things for granted has so much to do with the nameless, faceless THEY…that is ultimately…someone just like US.

  7. InsideJourneys

    I can’t believe what it must be like to be without life’s necessities. We have so much to be thankful for, don’t we, Judith?
    Funny, a friend of mine and I had a similar conversation a few hours ago. I was telling her how much I saw when I walked the city with my 9 year old niece and saw it through her eyes. The things I was passing by everyday without even noticing were all new and spectacular to her and made her so excited she passed it on to me. Since then, I’ve been walking around with my camera just so I remember to slow down and really look and appreciate the things around me.
    I love the quotes as well. Very appropriate and profound.
    Thank you for this post,
    Marcia

    • Another apology for the delay in responding to your comment.
      It’s great to see everyday things through someone else’s eyes.

      Judith

So what's on your mind?

