If I Had My Life to Live Over, I would…

Daisy and butterfly

“If I had my life to live over, I would start barefoot earlier in the spring and stay that way later in the fall I would go to more dances.  I would ride more merry-go rounds.  I would pick more daisies.” Nadine Stair was 85 years old when she composed this poem.

When I moved into a much smaller house I had no room for all the books I had collected over so many years.  So many of my old friends were given to be sold for charity and I hope they have all found good homes.

I kept those that had special memories for me and two of those were bought by my late husband for no reason other than he thought I would like them.  No birthday presents, just ‘presents in between’ – as he used to say, ‘because quite the nicest presents are the presents in between’.  These books are collections of writings and poems by women, reflecting on their lives to date.  One is entitled ‘I am becoming the woman I’ve wanted’ and the other ‘If I had my life to live over’.

No doubt we all know Erma Bombeck’s “If I had my life to live over” and today I found this video.  I just love it.

With Mother shortly before she died

I have few regrets in my life but when I found this poem I started thinking of my own mother and what she had missed because two of her daughters moved away to far places.  So though she is no longer with us I should like to dedicate this poem to her

If I Could Begin Again…

grow as a speck of dust would grow then let me begin by being a better daughter Let me begin by understanding the silence of your life; by showing you the sounds of sight: how a peach full in the sun might be the sun, how a flock of starlings fanning the sky is like one large wing, by remembering Dad’s gentleness his quiet but deliberate way of speaking, so easily read by you. Let me begin with patience – that I need not shout, simply face you when I speak. ~Sue Saniel Elkind~

Sue Saniel Elkind started writing poetry at the age of 64.   She died on January 21,1994, and is finally beginning to receive recognition, long overdue, as a distinctive, significant voice in contemporary American poetry. 

These books are full of such moving stories and poems.  I am trying to become the woman I have always wanted to be.  I slip and slide just when I think I am getting there.  And then a break through when somebody compliments me on something I have achieved, or a stranger smiles thank you because in some way I have helped them, or one of my grandsons smiles just because he sees me. This ‘getting there’ is not easy and is a continuing journey.  I am enjoying the journey and I hope you are enjoying yours.

Photo by Radu Razvan Gheorghe


 


3 responses to “If I Had My Life to Live Over, I would…

  1. I am enjoying my journey and I love and remember the one by Erma! Smiles and a thank you to you!

  2. Pingback: Fair Warning | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  3. Pingback: One of these days | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

