Happy Birthday Darling

“There are three hundred and sixty-four days when you might get un-birthday presents … and only one for birthday presents, you know.”  Lewis Carroll (1832-1898) from Through the Looking Glass.

Baby Carolyn

“Babies are necessary to grown-ups. A new baby is like the beginning of all things –wonder, hope, a dream of possibilities. In a world that is cutting down its trees to build highways, losing its earth to concrete… babies are almost the only remaining link with nature, with the natural world of living things from which we spring.” Eda J LeShan, 1922-2002, American writer, television host, counselor, educator, and playwright.

Today is my daughter’s birthday.  Such a long time since she looked like this.  And she is not going to thank me for doing this to her.

She is now married and Mother to two of my good-looking, strapping grandsons.  No I am not biased at all.

And how the years have flown since she was this small.

Cate and David

Big sister and her brother

In no time at all she was walking and talking non-stop; being protective of her new baby brother.  She was such a happy child.

Then off to nursery school at 3; big school at 5 and then another school on the other side of the world in New Zealand.

Another move, this time to a school in Montreal; then back to New Zealand and yet another school.

While these moves were taking place she was growing into the woman she would become.

Drew and Jae

Boys at the beach

She is a busy career woman who still has time for her boys and their interests.  These interests include water polo and practice at the local pool at 6.30 am several morning a week; rugby and cricket practice depending on the season and basketball before school on one morning and always on Saturdays and Sundays.

She also coaches basketball and manages a water polo team.  She manages to fit this in around her busy work schedule, and mostly keeps smiling.

So why am I telling you about my daughter.  I have told you already that if I could choose, I would choose my children.  Well if I could choose a daughter I would choose mine.  Oh there are times when I could strangle her and no doubt she thinks the same about me.

But this caring, busy woman is always there for me (and also her friends).  I only need to call her and she is with me as soon as possible.  A recent accident had her arrive to take me to the after hours emergency clinic where she waited while I was attended to.  Only later did I find out that dinner had just been served at their house when I called.

So Happy Birthday Cate and thank you for being my daughter.

And because I have just discovered Eda Le Shan, here is another very apt quote

Becoming responsible adults is no longer a matter of whether children hang up their pajamas or put dirty towels in the hamper, but whether they care about themselves and others — and whether they see everyday chores as related to how we treat this planet.- Eda LeShan


One response to “Happy Birthday Darling

  1. And birthday wishes from me also!
    Chris

So what's on your mind?

