I Can See Clearly Now..

I can see clearly now the rain has gone
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s going to be a bright, bright sunshiny day

Have you ever had a song stuck in your head and you just can’t get rid of it.  If so you know just how annoying it can be.  This is also referred to as an earworm.  According to Wikipedia Earworm is a loan translation of the German Ohrwurm, and is a portion of a song or other music that repeats compulsively within one’s mind, put colloquially as “music being stuck in one’s head.”

Like yawning, catchy tunes– especially those with words– seem to be contagious. Just mention a song like “Dancing Queen” from Abba, or how about “Bye Bye Love”?  Immediately someone within hearing distance will get it stuck in their head.

Well this is just such a song.  I Can See Clearly Now played on the radio at the weekend.  It was most appropriate.  The rain had stopped, the sun was shining and hey presto!

After the rain

After the rain

Look all around there’s nothing but blue skies
Look straight ahead nothing but blue skies

If you don’t know this song listen here.  This is a version I hadn’t heard before but listen and then it will then bug you too.  (I do like to share with my friends).

What to do to get rid of the song?

  • Call a friend and talk about mundane, every day things – great while the conversation lasts but shortly after the song returns.
  • Read a book and have a cup of coffee – my most likely response to any stress
  • Take Lotte (my Tibetan Spaniel) for a walk
  • Do some laundry
  • Housework – my least likely response to any stress and while I am walking, doing laundry or housework the song is there still.

So for the rest of today I have to just put up with it.  However, it could be much worse.  Think of the ghastly songs that have been recorded.

I think I can make it now the pain has gone
And all of the bad feelings have disappeared
Here is the rainbow I’ve been praying for
It’s gonna be a bright, bright sunshiny day

Rainbow

The rain has gone

And from Oscar Wilde – “If one plays good music, people don’t listen and if one plays bad music people don’t talk. “

So excuse me now while I go to do the laundry – ugh!  Or another thought, perhaps I will read my book.  This is a much better option.


8 responses to “I Can See Clearly Now..

  1. lifewith4cats

    I find the best solution for this is to go to a friend and say,” quick, sing me a song!” Usualy the new song is better than the one which is stuck.

  2. Pingback: Now the work begins | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  3. Pingback: I Talk To People | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  4. That’s great, Judith, that you and I wrote about the same thing. I didn’t know about the German Ohrwurm, so I found that very interesting.

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    A unique post, if you ask me – have never seen anything like it! But I love the positives of wordpress 🙂

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. I have been over to your blog and have subscribed so that I don’t miss any future posts. My heart goes out to you and your son. Remember, you are a good mother and your son will remember it too.

      • WordsFallFromMyEyes

        Judith, I am so touched. Thank you so much. I am very, very touched, Judith. When people – usually people who can relate to some degree or other – “see” what I’m saying, what occurred, how it impacted, I am grateful. I am very honoured you’ve subbed too.

        I clicked your gravatar – AWESOME! 🙂

So what's on your mind?

