Housework and other joys.

When it comes to housework the one thing no book of household management can ever tell you is how to begin.  Or maybe I mean why.
~Katharine Whitehorn,  British journalist, writer and columnist.  1928 –

I really don’t know anybody who actually enjoys housework  If anybody is foolish enough to tell me they do, I immediately put them into the category of ‘those to be looked at askance’.  Why would anybody want to repeat the tedious chores time after time, only to then have to repeat them all over again.  I agree with both Katharine Whitehorn and Anne Gibbons who puts it in few words, but goes right to the point when she says ‘Nature abhors a vacuum.  And so do I.’

Well when I got married in 1957 we were advised that our aim in life was to please our man.  And part and parcel of this was to be the perfect housewife.  We weren’t expected to go out to work or to pursue our own careers but we were expected to have the perfectly kept house.  Woe betide you if your mother or horror of horrors, your mother-in-law, should call unexpectedly and the house wasn’t clean and shining.  Never mind that both of the kids had measles and you had been up all night tending to them.  As soon as husband was out of the door the vacuum cleaner, polishing dusters and floor mops must come out and be put to use!

Housekeeping

I am old enough to remember the original Stepford Wives – those prissy silly women whose only aim in life was to have the perfect house, the perfect dress, the perfect children and to prepare the perfect dinners to preside over perfect dinner parties.  They were told that their menfolk would love them for this.

Well for those of you who don’t know The Stepford Wives is a 1972 satirical thriller novel by Ira Levin and  the story reveals that the frighteningly submissive housewives in this  idyllic Connecticut neighborhood were robots created by their husbands.

Take a walk with Lotte my Tibetan Spaniel after which she usually just wants to sleep.
Just have coffee at a coffee shop and read the daily paper
Meet friends for lunch or a drink
Catch up a TV program I have missed
Have a snooze
Perhaps try a new recipe for fun
Read other people’s blogs on WordPress.com

And as you can see, vacuuming, cleaning, dusting do not feature high on my list of things to do.

” I hate housework. You make the beds, you wash the dishes and six months later you have to start all over again.” Joan Rivers

Let’s start a chat on what you would rather do than housework.

Until tomorrow.

3 responses to “Housework and other joys.

  1. I have a fridge magnet that says “I clean the house every other day. This is not the other day.”
    What would I rather do than housework: read, talk to friends, meditate, spend time with my family and pets, garden, walk, read blogs, research family history, write my blog, learn new things, do crosswords, laugh, listen to the radio, practice hands on healing, be a listening ear, play with my grandson, breathe and just be….

  2. I would rather:
    depending on the season – go skiing, biking, to the beach,
    read books with my kids,
    play outside with my kids,
    work in the garden,
    make fire wood,
    sew,
    bake and decorate a cake,
    read a book,
    emailing and blogging,
    clean the chicken coop, and
    I do enjoy hanging laundry to dry and folding it off the line.

  3. Pingback: Saturday Again! | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

So what's on your mind?

