Saturday Again

Six word Saturday button

Once again it’s Saturday and time for six word Saturday.
Today my six words are

Man in the kitchen making dinner.

Want to play along? All that’s necessary to participate is to describe your life (or something) in a phrase using just six words – click on the picture above or  click here for more details.

My friend has been talking about using his slow cooker for ages.  We have had discussions about what one cooks in it and yesterday he announced that he was cooking corned beef in his slow cooker.

I am very impressed.  He chopped the vegetables and put them in the pot together with the beef and he has now left it to cook for 8 hours.  Meantime he invited his sister-in-law and her husband to join us for dinner.  My only contribution is to make the white onion sauce for the meat.  Easy peasy as they say.

Pot roast

For over 40 years I was married to a chef aka man who loved to spend time in the kitchen and in later years when he had retired, we had a reversal of roles when entertaining.  He cooked and I poured the drinks.  I wonder if this is going to happen again tonight.

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.”
Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright,
Pavarotti, My Own Story

 

10 thoughts on “Saturday Again

  1. I love my crock pot as well. One of the best and simplest things I make in it is Beef Rendang – a Malaysian beef curry. It is so easy – just put the raw meat, coconut milk, raw onions, herbs and spices in the pot, leave for 8 hours and its done and delicious. I used to fry up the meat and onions beforehand but discovered that throwing everything in raw actually produces a much more authentic result and for less effort!
    And then there’s soup! Don’t get me started on crock pot soup….

So what's on your mind?

