Today’s Shower

Creative writing kit

I have talked about this kit before.  Part of the kit is a book entitled Prompts and Practices.  Each day there is a prompt and today’s was Write About Bathing.

When I saw the prompt this morning I thought “Well that is surely something I can write about”.  And so it was…

I was taking a shower, sitting on a stool provided because of my fractured ankle, and enjoying the feel of the warm water cascading over this body, when suddenly whoosh, the gentle flow of warm water changed.  I was engulfed in rushing water seeming to come at me from all directions.  Well of course it wasn’t.  The shower hose had split.  Fortunately the red Santa boot was completely encased in a very large plastic bag and so the water didn’t get onto it.

But with a yell, I opened the shower door and so the bathroom was once again covered in water.  Lotte ran in to see what the noise was about but as she doesn’t like water she quickly back pedaled out of the bathroom.

The friend who has been staying with me since the accident came to my rescue with towels to mop the floor.  So once again I have the cleanest bathroom floor in Brooklyn.

Bath towelsAnd a trip to the plumbing store to get a replacement hose that took just about all day because when I asked I was told to bring the receipt for the part as a new shower was installed last year after I bought the property.  But when I arrived I was told that they needed the broken part to send back to the supplier. So home for lunch and then back to the store again for the replacement.  It is now installed.

And then it was off to the hospital to return the zimmer frame that I no longer need.  I am glad to see the back of that.

Time for my rainbow.  I have only 20 more days until the red boot is removed.  Hurrah!

Rainbow

My rainbow

23 thoughts on “Today’s Shower

  1. I probably shouldn’t have laughed, but your shower story was just what I needed after a rubbish night in work. Thank you for sharing, glad you had a happy ending though. :-D

  2. Oh my….the shower version of “it doesn’t just rain, it pours”. Isn’t it amazing how complex smallish challenges can be when one doesn’t have mobility…what a consciousness raiser, and how much you’re going to appreciate being more nimble in 20 days…maybe leaping out of showers and even over candlesticks then, too? : )

    • Something that one can easily deal with usually becomes a major drama. And then having someone drive me about 15kms to the plumbing store only to have to go back again. Luckily my friend could see the funny side of it all!

  3. Luckily it was in the bathroom, easier to clean up than in the kitchen!
    Lotte was a big help, huh? LOL!
    It’ll be so nice to get that boot off! To be liberated from plaster!

  4. Seems your plumbing has perfect timing, at least when it comes to writing prompts. Sorry for the mess, Judith. At least it wasn’t spaghetti sauce. That stuff goes EVERYWHERE!

  5. I can’t wait to read your post when the red boot comes off! At least you have clean floors while you are waiting and lots of excitement!

  6. Oh, Judith. Certainly a timely prompt. That’s good news that you’re done with the zimmer frame. So, Lotte’s a fair-weather rescue dog, I see. Had to chuckle at her reaction. I’m glad you have someone to help you through this time.

    • Thanks – I particularly like this resource of hers and refer to it often. I don’t know what the IAJW is, can you please enlighten me.
      And I have just been over to your blog. I shall return to read more shortly. :)

  7. Pingback: And Now For Today’s Shower | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

  8. Pingback: Book Review: A Creative Writer’s Kit | A Daily Life

So what's on your mind?

