Daily Archives: December 1, 2011

Random thoughts

“There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain is our temple; the philosophy is kindness.”  Dalai Lama, Buddhist leader of Tibet

Today I have been catching up on blogs to which I subscribe and also following some of them to other places.  Random thoughts are rushing around my head and just so that you don’t miss out (ha ha) I thought I would share inflict some of them with on you.

  • I simply toss out the used coffee grounds after enjoying the taste and aroma of the hot coffee.  But did you know there are some people who use these grounds for all sorts of things.  For example have you considered making your own face mask? or use the grounds as an exfoliator or as a cleaning agent.  I found this blog - I don’t know how I got there – and as it says in the title it lists 6 surprising ways to re-use coffee grounds.  Um…
  • Christmas giving and celebrating.  I recently read a post where the mother had decided that Santa wouldn’t come to their house to leave gifts.  The boys were told that instead Santa would go to more needy houses.  That’s a great idea.  I wish I could direct you to the blog – it’s well worth reading – but unfortunately I deleted it and cannot remember who wrote it.  If you are reading this and it was you, please let me know.
  • Lunch at Mary Potter today.  Some new faces; a few missing having gone home and one leaving for long term care in a another center.  Changes each week; some good others not so good.
  • I heard Nat King Cole singing “Unforgettable” on the radio this morning.  This song was played at my Father’s funeral and will always be associated with that very special man as far as I am concerned.
  • I thought about different words we use for the same items – purse, handbag and pocketbook.  Which do you use?  Hood and bonnet of the car, and trunk and boot; cookie and biscuit; jam and jelly; movie and film and on and on.  The same language, English, but two quite separate and different versions.  I wonder how anybody learns English as a second language.
  • Dinner tonight at a favourite restaurant, Chow on Tory,  where the food is described as ‘fresh Asian’.  My very favourite is Peking duck, served in lettuce cups and a new delight Castro’s blue cheese and peanut wontons with berry coulis, all accompanied by Jasmine rice.  Yummy.
  • Today Elizabeth at EOF737 asked Do you feel connected to your body?  Thinking about this made me say yes, most of the time.  I am of course, aware as the years pass that my body may have changed in shape and perhaps size, but it is still the body I was given and is still me.  And after all this time I still like my body.  Does that make me different from the norm?
  • I read another post recently that attracted 434 likes and 302 comments – how would I find time to respond to all of them?
  • I recently went to the local observatory and spent a couple of hours being educated and entertained about the night sky.  More on this in a separate post.

So you see this brain of mine has been running around in ever decreasing circles today.  Hopefully, tomorrow will be better.  And if tomorrow never comes?

“If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together there is something you must always remember.
You are braver than you believe; stronger than you seem and smarter than you think.
But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart, I’ll always be with you”.  Winnie the Pooh to Christopher Robin

Winnie the Pooh